Remember the Women Institute Home
Home About the Remember the Women Institute Projects Events Literature Arts News Links Contact Us


2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2015 | 2014 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2007-2008 | 2006 | 2005


Congratulations to our Advisory Board Members: Four of Remember the Women Institute's Advisory Board Members have recently received honors or made headlines. Dr. Alice Shalvi, already the recipient of the Israel Prize, Israel's highest honor, has just published her memoir, Never a Native. Prof. Eva Alterman Blay has been named Professor Emeritus of the School of Philosophy, Letters and Human Sciences, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil. Dr. Batya Brutin received Yad Vashemís Holocaust Education Lifetime Achievement Award in Israel. Prof. Dalia Ofer received The Holocaust Educational Foundationís Distinguished Achievement Award in Holocaust Studies for 2018.


It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of Dr. S. Lillian Kremer, a member of the Advisory Board of Remember the Women Institute. And an exceptional scholar A University Distinguished Professor, Emerita, Department of English, Kansas State University, Dr. Kremer died January 13, 2018 of acute respiratory failure in Arlington, Virginia. She taught American literature, ethnic and women's writing, and Holocaust literature and film. She was a Fulbright Lecturer in Belgium and presented lectures in the Czech Republic, Italy, and Israel. She is the author of Witness Through the Imagination: The Holocaust in Jewish American Literature, Women's Holocaust Writing: Memory and Imagination, and editor and contributing author of Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work, a two-volume reference work designated a CHOICE Best Reference Book, the American Library Association Dartmouth Medal Honorable Mention and Judaica Bibliography Book Award by the Association of Jewish Libraries. Her articles on Jewish American and Holocaust literature appear in many critical collections and Modern Language Studies, Contemporary Literature, Modern Jewish Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, Profils Américains, Saul Bellow Journal, and Philip Roth Studies. Fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture supported her scholarship.


Home About Projects Events Literature The Arts In the News Links Contact Us

© The Remember the Women Institute, 2020
11 Riverside Drive, Suite 3RE, New York, NY 10023
Phone (212) 799-0887 Fax (212) 496-8873 E-mail [email protected]

Site design: Allison Hunter Web Design, LLC